I broke up with my career today.

I did it. Today, I broke up with my career.

After the realisation that I wasn’t happy, I decided that my current career path was not for me and started looking for other opportunities.

I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do, or where I wanted to go. But I knew what I didn’t like, and that was enough to start the process of discovering what I actually DID like.

I have always been interested in fashion, and retail marketing was something that had done in the past a little bit and really enjoyed. But I had always thought the fashion industry would be too hard to crack, so never thought about it seriously. Until now. After discovering the illusive advertising industry wasn’t as exclusive and elite as I once perceived, it made me think maybe the fashion industry was achievable too…

I mean, I had worked hard and been successful in my career to date, I knew that I had the motivation and drive to achieve anything I put my mind to, so why not this?

I started looking for opportunities and came across an Inventory Coordinator role at one of New Zealand’s leading fashion retailers and thought, why not give it a go? So I applied, got an interview, and two week’s later, had the job!

It’s an entry-level job, a pay-cut, and completely different to anything I’ve done before. It’s a risk and I don’t know where it will lead, but all I know is that I’m only YOUNG, I have the freedom right now to be able to take risks, so why shouldn’t I?! Life is too short to spend your days doing something you don’t enjoy.

And now, after giving the whole ‘it’s not you, it’s me’ speech to my current boss, I get to begin a new chapter.

People always say that you should ‘do what you enjoy’ and ‘find your passion’. We all you owe it to ourselves to discover what that is. Hopefully this is one step closer for me.

Are you struggling to find your passion and purpose in life too? Share with me, I’d love to hear! 

Jes x

7 thoughts on “I broke up with my career today.

  1. I left my career in PR a few months ago to do what I love.. and that is handcrafts. I truly enjoyed reading your post and wish you the best on your new adventure!

  2. Well done. Well done, indeed. Having just read your quarter life crisis post I can totally relate to those feelings. Have you checked out Meg Jay “The Defining Decade”? If you haven’t, you should, because you pretty much just did what she suggests (but there’s a lot of other good stuff there too).
    I can’t wait to hear about your new career path! sending some seriously good vibes your way. (ps love the blog).

    1. Thank you Elizabeth!! No I have not heard of that but I am definitely going to check it out on my way to work this morning (work I don’t totally hate btw, nailing it! Ha). Thank you for the suggestion and thank you for the positive vibes! Feels good to know people understand where I’m coming from. Stay in touch xx

    2. So just googled Meg Jay and I actually listened to her Ted talk just last week, it was awesome! So definitely going to check out her book as well. xx

      1. Yay! It’s just a nice little pick me up. Especially when you get a case of the “Shoulds”. I should make this much money, I should be married. I should have babies…. Twenties are rough ! But fun when you’re doing what you love.

Leave a Reply

