Review: The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a Fuck by Sarah Knight

The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a Fuck: How to Stop Spending Time You Don’t Have with People You Don’t Like Doing Things You Don’t Want to Do (A No F*cks Given Guide) by Sarah Knight. 

711b0ad53cdc0335a60d6601deb79b30

This is a book I encourage all bad-ass bitches out there to read. 

It’s so easy to get bogged down by everyday shit and lose sight of what really matters, and this book encourages you to really think hard about how you are spending your time, energy and money (your ‘fuck bucks’ as Sarah likes to refer to them). You’ve only got a limited amount of fuck bucks, so it’s important to make sure you are spending them on things that bring you joy. Sarah helps you declutter your mind and focus on what really matters. 

As a natural try-hard, I find it very easy to succumb to pleasing everyone else but myself, which often results in getting stressed, burnt out and emotional over things that I really shouldn’t be getting stressed, burnt out and emotional over. It also means I’m easily swayed into living may life how other people think I should live it. Hence my need for this book, and the whole point of this god damn blog. 😉

This book sits on my beside table so I can pick it up any time and remind myself to give less fucks about shit that’s not important to me. If you’re a lucky bad-ass bitch you may only need to read this book once and be on your merry way to giving your fucks where they are needed, but for me, it’s a constant internal struggle I have to work through.

Have a think about something you currently give a fuck about that maybe you shouldn’t, and run it through the process below to see whether it’s worthy of your fuck bucks:

lcmongaf_diagrams_flowchart

That’s just a taster of what this book asks you to think about. So if you think you could gain some value from evaluating the fucks you give in everyday life, I highly recommend you pick it up! It’s a quick read and broken up with funny anecdotes throughout it – helpful AND funny. Perfect combo.

If you’re keen to give it a read too, check it out here.

She’s also just released another book: Get Your Shit Together, which I have next up on my ‘to read’ list too – it’s more of a guide to put everything you’ve learnt in the first book to action. Stay tuned for a review on that one too. 

Good luck with your fucks, ladies.

#belikedarcy

Leave a Reply

